Black Swan

First things first, I was relieved to be going to see this in the day. It totally freaked me and my friend out for so many reasons. On the whole, Black Swan is a fantastic film. I would liken it to be a softer version of Lost Highway. Natalie Portman is brilliant and a wonderful ballet dancer. The darker side of the film ranges from downright explicit to thriller to “cover your eyes Ethel” horror. A total mind bend to be polite and open to interpretation.

I can’t really give my full opinion without spoiling it for those who don’t know the ending so I won’t. However it is very gripping and intense as you have no idea what is going to happen. You can predict nothing about this film at all.

My one gripe is that I don’t think it was suitable for a 15. I felt the level of horror and sexual scenes are a bit too much, even for me and I am 26! I don’t know what else to say about the film except don’t be prepared for an easy ride. The ballet scenes are lovely and it is an incredible film and it definitely deserves all teh awards/nominations.

Leave a Reply

